From 1 April 2020, this website will not be updated

For the latest local health and care information, visit
Information that has been held previously by NHS Bexley Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG), NHS Bromley CCG, NHS Greenwich CCG, NHS Lambeth CCG, NHS Lewisham CCG and NHS Southwark CCG is transferring to the new CCG, NHS South East London CCG on 1st April 2020. The new CCG will become the new controller for the data held by the superseded organisations. For further information about how NHS SEL CCG processes personal data, please refer to the organisation’s privacy notices. If you have any further questions about the use of data by NHS SEL CCG, please contact:

​​Equality and diversity​ 

NHS Southwark CCG commitment to equality and diversity

We are committed to promoting equality, diversity and human rights for Southwark people.  As part of that commitment, we have made equality and human rights “everyone’s business” and developed an Equality and Diversity Strategy together with a comprehensive annual Action Plan to integrate equality and human rights into everything we do.

Our commissioning processes are also grounded in the human rights principles known as “the FREDA Principles”. This means that commissioning decisions about care pathways for Southwark people will be subject to:

  • Fairness
  • Respect
  • Equality
  • Dignity
  • Autonomy

Why equality and diversity is important to Southwark CCG

Apart from the moral and business case, the key drivers for integrating equality, diversity and human rights outcomes into all aspects of commissioning, service access and delivery, employment practice, engagement and involvement are:
  • The Human Rights Act 1998
  • The Equality Act 2010, which includes the nine protected characteristics and the Public Sector Equality Duty (PSED)
  • The Equality Act 2010 (Specific Duties and Public Authorities) Regulations 2017
  • The NHS Constitution
  • The Equality Delivery System (EDS) framework for the NHS
The nine protected characteristics are defined as:
  • Age
  • Disability
  • Gender Reassignment
  • Marriage and Civil Partnership 
  • Pregnancy and Maternity
  • Race (this includes ethnic or national origins, colour or nationality)
  • Religion or Belief (this includes lack of belief)
  • Sex (male & female)
  • Sexual Orientation

Public Sector Equality Duty (PSED)

The PSED puts a responsibility on all public authorities (including NHS Clinical Commissioning Groups) to proactively consider the impact of their decisions on the nine protected characteristics. The specific duties provide a way for public authorities to demonstrate how they are meeting the PSED.  You can read our Public Sector Equality Duty Report 2019-2020 here.

Workforce Race Equality Standard

Our WRES data and action plan for 2019 is published here.  This is the second year we have published and you can read the 2018 report here.   

Measuring our equality and diversity progress

In 2017 NHS Southwark CCG started implementing the Equality Delivery System (EDS2) using a new methodology. For Goals 1 - Better health outcomes and 2 - Improved patient access and experience, NHS Southwark CCG reviewed the following services at an engagement event in November 2017:

  • Extended Primary Care Service
  • Talking Therapies Southwark
  • Continuing Healthcare

Goals 3 - A representative and supported workforce and 4 - Inclusive leadership, were reviewed in early 2018 against the EDS2 outcomes. This work continues and has informed our equality objectives action plan.

Our equality objectives  

NHS Southwark CCG is actively engaged in developing a new set of Equality Objectives, using its information gathering and engagement activities as part of the Equality Delivery System to identify appropriate areas for action. The Equality Objectives will be refreshed and renewed annually in keeping with the CCG's evolving circumstances.