Back to news

​NHS Southwark CCG announces new Chair

Southwark GP leads have elected Dr Jonty Heaversedge as the new Chair of NHS Southwark Clinical Commissioning Group.

Jonty was unanimously supported by the GP members of the governing body and will start his new role on 1 July 2014. He will be taking over from the current Chair, Dr Amr Zeineldine, who is stepping down having come to the end of his two year tenure.

Jonty has been a GP in Southwark for 12 years. He has been actively involved in the CCG as clinical lead for patient engagement since the CCG came into being in shadow form in April 2011. His passion for involving and empowering Southwark patients – both in the management of their own health and in the work of the CCG makes him well placed to take on the role of Chair.

Commenting on his election Dr Heaversedge said: "I am thrilled to have been elected and look forward to building on the excellent work Amr and Southwark GPs have been doing over the last two years.  There are challenging times ahead for the NHS, but there is also a real opportunity to improve the health services that Southwark residents receive. I look forward to working with member practices and patients to achieve our ambition for a healthier, happier Southwark."

Andrew Bland, Chief Officer at NHS Southwark CCG said, "Speaking on behalf of everyone at NHS Southwark Clinical Commissioning Group, I would like to thank our outgoing Chair and other clinical leads."

He added: "Through working together with Southwark GP practices and patients they have ensured the organisation has abided by the values it agreed were important; and worked tirelessly to achieve the vision and goals it has set itself."

Other GPs elected to the governing body are: Dr Roe, Dr Ezeji, Dr Baxter and Dr Mizan.